This is the "Home" page of the "Negro Leagues baseball sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
     
Library phone: 610-683-4480
Kutztown University home page Rohrbach Library home page

Negro Leagues baseball sources   Tags: african_americans, baseball, race, sports  

Materials in Rohrbach Library and beyond that deal with the history of blacks in baseball
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2010 URL: http://libguides.kutztown.edu/negroleagues Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video

A 6:23 segment of the excellent documentary The Untold Truth, narrated by Louis Gossett Jr.

 

On the Web

Negro Leagues Baseball at the Internet Public Library, an excellent index with links to many worthwhile sites

Negro League Baseball Dot Com includes players, teams, timelines, and wide-ranging links to books, videos and other merchandise of interest

TBO.com Sports: Negro League Hall of Fame Election, with short biographies of nearly fifty Negro League notables, each with audio commentary by Negro Leagues scholar Lawrence Hogan

Negro Leagues Baseball Museum with resources for teachers including video clips of oral history interviews, photos, lesson plans, a bibliography, and links to related sites

Black Baseball features player profiles and photos, useful book lists, and merchandise

Baseball and Jackie Robinson from the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress

Negro League History at MLB.com  from the site of Major League Baseball, includes profiles of dozens of Negro Leaguers

The New York Times online archive offers several dozen articles and obituaries, photos, and a tremendous slideshow of black baseball history

"The New and Improved Hall of Fame," by Bryan Curtis. Slate, July 27, 2001.  This article includes notes on the history of the selection procedures for Negro League players in the Baseball Hall of Fame

 

Books & videos at Rohrbach Library

Though there is no one phrase that will capture every item relevant to the Negro Leagues, this catalog search gets you off to a good start.  Below are links to several other library items with relevant chapters or sections:

"Get That Nigger Off the Field!": A Sparkling, Informal History of the Black Man in Baseball by Art Rust, Jr.

September Swoon: Richie Allen, the '64 Phillies, and Racial Integration, by William C. Kashatus

Baseball's Great Experiment: Jackie Robinson and His Legacy, by Jules Tygiel

Bad Henry, by Stan Baldwin and Jerry Jenkins in collaboration with Hank Aaron

I Never Had It Made, by Jackie Robinson as told to Alfred Duckett

The African-American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped Our Country, edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Cornel West

Anthropology, Sport, and Culture, edited by Robert R. Sands

Racism In College Athletics: The African American Athlete's Experience, edited by Dana Brooks and Ronald Althouse

The American Game: Baseball and Ethnicity, edited by Lawrence Baldassaro

Image: Hank Aaron, by Elise Dodeles.
  The 18-year-old Aaron is seen in the uniform of the Indianapolis Clowns

 

In Rohrbach Library's online collections (login required)

"Sepia Stars Only Lukewarm Toward Campaign to Break Down Baseball Barriers" - 1939 newsapaper article with background context from American Decades Primary Sources

"Mamie "Peanut" Johnson: The Last Female Voice of the Negro Leagues," Jean Hastings Ardell.  NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture, Volume 10, Number 1, Fall 2001, pp. 181-192

"Maybe I'll Pitch Forever" - Words of Satchel Page, three years before he pitched his last Major League game at age 59.  Interview with background context from American Decades Primary Sources

Biographies, from the History Reference Center collection, of Satchel Paige, Larry Doby, and Jackie Robinson

"Baseball and Race: The Limits of Competition," by Neil J. Sullivan. The Journal of Negro History, Vol. 83, No. 3 (Summer, 1998)

"The Integration of Negroes in Baseball," by Dan W. Dodson.  Journal of Educational Sociology, Vol. 28, No. 2 (Oct., 1954), pp. 73-82 - Written while baseball's color line was dissolving, the article analyzes the strategies of Branch Rickey, the Dodgers GM who signed Jackie Robinson, and suggests how others working for desegregation in other fields could learn from his example

"From Fraternity to Fracture: Black Press Coverage of and Involvement in Negro League Baseball in the 1920s," by Brian Carroll. American Journalism, Spring 2006, Vol. 23 Issue 2, p69-95

"Breaking Baseball Barriers: The 1953 -1954 Negro League and Expansion of Women's Public Roles," by Tracy Everbacli. American Journalism, Winter 2005, Vol. 22 Issue 1, p13-33

"Earl Mann, Nat Peeples, and the Failed Attempt of Integration in the Southern Association," by Kenneth R. Fenster.  NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture, Volume 12, Number 2, Spring 2004, pp. 73-101

Video: Interview with Bert Simmons, Negro League player honored by the Baltimore Orioles

Video: Art "Superman" Pennington, Negro League star who lost his museum of memorabilia in 2008 Cedar Rapids flood

"'What's Wrong With Baseball': The Pittsburgh Courier and the Beginning of its Campaign to Integrate the National Pastime," by Chris Lamb.  Western Journal of Black Studies; Winter 2002, Vol. 26 Issue 4, p189, 15p

"Black Heroes in Sport: From Jack Johnson to Muhammad Ali," by Joseph Dorinson.  Journal of Popular Culture; Winter 1997, Vol. 31 Issue 3, p115-135, 21p

"The Enemies at the Gate: An Economic Debate about the Denouement of Negro League Baseball," by Patricia Vignola.  NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture, Volume 13, Number 2, Spring 2005, pp. 71-81

"Home run for Negro league," by Cliff Hocker. Black Enterprise. New York: May 1997. Vol. 27, Iss. 10; pg. 16, 2 pgs

"The Black Press and the Integration of Professional Baseball: A Content Analysis of Shifts in Coverage, 1945–1948," by Brian Carroll.  Journal of Sports Media, Volume 3, Number 2, Fall 2008, pp. 61-87

"When All Heaven Rejoiced: Branch Rickey and the Origins of the Breaking of the Color Line," by Lee Lowenfish.  NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture, Volume 11, Number 1, Fall 2002, pp. 1-15

"The Legacy of the Negro Leagues," by David King.  Information Today; Sep 2006, Vol. 23 Issue 8, p41-43.  Descriptions of good websites for Negro League study

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bruce Jensen ♫ 610-683-4766
Contact Info
Rohrbach Library
Room 100B
Phone 610-683-4766
Text 956-605-3176
Send Email
 

We want your input!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip