This is the "LIBRARY DATABASES" page of the "FAR 111 - Fine Arts Resources from the KU Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Hours today:        
Library phone: 610-683-4480
Kutztown University home page Rohrbach Library home page

FAR 111 - Fine Arts Resources from the KU Library   Tags: art, art_criticism, fine_arts, images  

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.kutztown.edu/FAR111 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

LIBRARY DATABASES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WHERE DO I BEGIN......

Art Source  Art Source is the full-text version of Art Index featuring full-text articles, abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, podcasts, and page images. Holdings are from 1929 to the present.

JSTOR - Peer-reviewed research articles in both Art and Art Education.  This database has Art Education and the Journal of Art Education available in full-text (the article is attached to the citation.)

(Groves) Dictionary of Art  Short articles and definitions accompanied by illustrations. On-line version of the definitive art dictionary.

ARTSTOR -  Premier image database for works of fine art, crafts, and design.  You should create an account to take full advantage of the database.

The LIBRARY CATALOG - lists all books and non-print in the Library and the Curriculum Materials Center.  The catalog now also includes links to all electronic journal holdings, electronic books, and hundreds of reputable websites

 

HOW DO I......

FInd information on people in databases and the library catalog?

  • Keyword searching is the broadest and should bring back any reference to the person in the major fields, like Title, Contents, and Subjects.In Keyword Searching the order of the names does not matter.
  • When searching for examples of an artist's work, search the name as an Author search(last name first)
  • When searching for critical works, biographies, or other material about an artist, use the name as a Subject search (last name first)

Log on to databases when off-campus?   Go through the Library Website. Do not go straight to EBSCO or ARTSTOR through Google or Yahoo, etc.


Find an article?     Use the OMNISEARCH tab on the Search Box or the ARTICLES AND DATABASES PORTAL at the bottom of the box.

Find a particular magazine or journal by title?      Use the JOURNAL tab in the Search Box.


Find a print bookUse the BOOKS tab on the Search Box, or SEARCH THE CATALOG in the left frame.

Find online books? Go to the Book Tab in the Search box and use the link for EBSCO eBooks, or search all types of books using the LIBRARY CATALOG link.


 

Search Symbols

   A question mark  is called a wild card.  In a search, it replaces one character within a word. You can use it multiple times in a word.

  • for example:  you can search Thomas Kin?aid  if you are unsure whether it is spelled Kincaid or Kinkaid.
  • example:  Ren??ssance
  • a pound sign (#) is used as a wild card if you want to replace 2 or more consecutive letters within a word.  Example :Ren#ssance

    An asterisk is used for truncation. It is always placed at the end.  It searches for all words that start with the root phrase before the pound sign. The * represents any number of letters at the end of the word.

  • for example:  you can search Wil# de Kooning if you are unsure whether it is spelled Wilhelm or Willem (correct spelling).
  • This also works well for plurals that have different endings, or for alternate spellings for terms that are spelled differently in other English-speaking countries, such as colo#  to pick up alternate spellings of color, colour.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip